My take on the Learning Festival

It’s been an exhausting 3 days. Running the same lesson 5 times on Wednesday, walking all over the NUS museum on Thursday, and getting cooked in ITR1 today. I could tell that some of you were wary about the whole English and Art collaboration idea. Most of us are not used to thinking so much about art, are we? Yet I wonder why not. After all, artists sacrifice so much to get their deepest thoughts onto a canvas. Why can’t we sacrifice just a bit of time to learn to understand the messages they are trying to convey? Through forcing ourselves to describe, analyse, interpret and evaluate a piece of art, we are opening ourselves up to new ways to looking at the processes and products of creation. Some of you came up with such great ideas, I was really awestruck! And it would not have happened if we had not pulled you out of your comfort zone and plunged you into this whole new world where you translate art into words.

I can’t really comment on the other groups, because we were all kept so separate from each other, but I am very proud of all of you, for the work that you put in and the things you were willing to learn. I am also very grateful for all the things I learned from you over the last 3 days!

Well done. Now have a good one-week break. After all, I didn’t set you much homework, did I?

4 thoughts on “My take on the Learning Festival

  1. I think “Everyone’s a Critic” was the most interesting station because I love artworks and interpreting it. But what was the point of bidding on the artworks when we had no money? Haha.

  2. I am glad you enjoyed the station. The bidding was just a way to rev everyone up, because most people (unlike you!) had no idea what to expect from the station and so expected the worst. The result was that they were subdued and hesitant to take part. I think the bidding helped to wake them up, don’t you? 🙂

  3. Hello Mrs V, thanks for being the teacher faciliator for Group hi-5 for the past 3 days! You have helped us a lot in our different activities especially the cheer part. I also have to apologise for being a weak 2nd group leader and not being vocal enough! Have a good rest!

    1. Yong Yi, I don’t understand what you are apologising for! Everyone did their very best, and I think we all had a lot of fun. I enjoyed watching you guys at work and play. It made me feel like I was 16 again (well- almost!).

Leave a Reply

