Answers to grammar exercise

Here are the answers to the exercises on tense that we did in class. Just for your information, they are taken from Raymond Murphy’s “English Grammar in Use”, which is a good book for teaching grammar, but tedious to learn from on your own unless you are highly motivated.

Unit 13: Present perfect and past (1) (“I have done” and “I did”)

13.1

2. has gone to bed

3. has fallen/ has dropped/ has gone down

4. has turned on the light/ has turned the light on/ has turned it on

5. has grown

6. has taken off

13.2

3. went

4. has gone

5. have forgotten

6. forgot

7. had

8. has been

9. haven’t finished

10. has just gone

11. arrested

12. gave… have lost

13. was… has disappeared

14. have improved

13.3

3. wrong- did Shakespeare write

4. right

5. wrong- was

6. right

7. wrong- My grandparents got married

8. wrong- were you born

9. right

10. wrong- was the scientist who developed

13.4

2. has broken; did that happen; fell

3. Have you had; cut; Did you go; did

Unit 14: Present perfect and past (2) (“I have done” and “I did”)

14.1

3. right

4. wrong- I bought

5. wrong- were you

6. wrong- Jenny left school

7. right

8. right

9. wrong- wasn’t

10. wrong- When was this book published

14.2

2. The weather has been cold recently

3. It was cold last week

4. I didn’t read a newspaper yesterday

5. I haven’t read a newspaper today

6. Ann has earned a lot of money this year

7. She didn’t earn so much last year

8. Have you had a holiday recently?

14.3

2. got… was… went

3. Have you washed it? (Also possible- Did you wash it?)

4. wasn’t

5. worked

6. has lived

7. Did you go… was… was

8. died… never met

9. have never met

10. I’m afraid he has gone out. When exactly did he go out?

11. How long have you lived there? Where did you live before that? And how long did you live in Chicago?

14.4 (Example answers)

2. I haven’t bought anything today.

3. I didn’t watch TV yesterday.

4. I went out with some friends yesterday evening.

5. I haven’t been to the cinema recently.

6. I’ve been swimming a lot recently.

Unit 15: Past perfect (“I had done”)

15.1

2. It had changed a lot.

3. She had arranged to do something else.

4. The film had already begun.

5. I hadn’t seen him for five years.

6. She had just had breakfast.

15.2

2. I had never seen her before.

3. He had never played tennis before.

4. We had never been there before/ we had never been to Denmark before.

15.3

1. called the police

2. there was… had gone

3. had just come back from holiday; looked very well

4. had a phone call from Sally; was; had written to her; had never replied to his letters

15.4

2. went

3. had gone

4. broke

5. saw… had broken… stopped

Unit 16: Past perfect continuous (“I had been doing”)

16.1

2. They had been playing football.

3. Somebody had been smoking in the room.

4. She had been dreaming.

5. He had been watching TV.

16.2

2. I had been waiting for 20 minutes when I suddenly realised that I was in the wrong restaurant.

3. At the time the factory closed down, Sarah had been working there for five years.

4. The orchestra had been playing for about ten minutes when a man in the audience suddenly began shouting.

5. Example answer: I had been walking along the road for about ten minutes when a car suddenly stopped just behind me.

16.3

3. was walking

4. had been running

5. were eating

6. had been eating (also possible- had eaten)

7. was looking

8. was waiting… had been waiting

9. had had

10. had been travelling

6 thoughts on “Answers to grammar exercise

  1. Hi Mrs V

    Can you explain to me why are these answers not accepted?

    Unit 14.3
    3) Your car looks very clean. Did you washed it?
    10) Is your father at home? No, I’m afraid he went gone out.

    Unit 14.4
    6) I have swum a lot recently.

    Unit 16.3
    7) Jim was on his hands and knees on the floor. He had been looking for his contact lens.

  2. Hi Mrs. V

    Can you explain to me why are these answers not accepted?

    Unit 14.3
    3) Your car looks very clean. Did you wash it? (Why are there two answers?)
    10) Is your father at home? No, I’m afraid he went out.

    Unit 14.4
    6) I have studied a lot recently.

    Unit 16.3
    7) Jim was on his hands and knees on the floor. He had been looking for his contact lens.

    Thanks! =D

  3. Hi Mrs V!

    For question 8, in unit 16, why can’t we write “had waited” instead of the answer “had been waiting”?

    For question 9, in the same unit, how do we know when to write “had had” or “had”?

    Thank you for your time!

  4. Hi Edwin- the book is in school, and I don’t have the questions with me at home. Will check in school- or you could ask me in class.

Leave a Reply

