The real holidays start NOW

Phew! Just finished the first exam for the Masters course I am doing- 16 years after my last exam. A very tense situation, I can tell you. I studied like mad- read through all the content, drew mind maps, discussed the issues with my classmates (not an easy task- we all live in different time zones) and even tried out mock questions, which was not easy, since each question requires an essay that takes an hour to write. You would think that the problem would be that of thinking of what to write. It really isn’t. The problem is that there is so much to say that one hour is nowhere near enough, so you really have to choose what to write. You know, after all these years, I found writing pretty difficult. I don’t mean constructing the argument, framing the sentences or finding the right words (this is Mrs V we are talking about here after all!)- I mean the actual physical process of writing by hand. I am so used to typing now that writing legibly was a real chore. I just pray the markers will be able to make out what I have written!

Anyway, now is when my holidays really start. As soon as the exam was over, my family picked me up and we went out for lunch. 17 years ago today, you see, was the day Mr V and I were married. So we decided to go for a movie as well. Truly I have spent the whole day just bumming around and it has been great. I can’t remember the last time I was able to just sit around doing nothing.

The movie we saw was the Indiana Jones one. I really enjoyed it- it was a pretty wild ride and a great deal of fun. But I have to say that it was like watching a Hindi movie: you have to suspend logic and reason to enjoy the movie. You know the type- bad guys shoot scads of bullets at good guys without hitting them even once, while good guys shoot a single bullet from a moving vehicle and hit three bad guys at once. As long as you are not trying to make sense of anything, you are free to sit back and enjoy Harrison Ford- who, like fine wine, gets better with age. You don’t have to agree with me, it’s okay! 🙂

Over the weekend I am going to read some of the books I have not had the time to read the last few months. As I finish each book I will tell you about it so that you can decide if you would like to try it out yourself. Watch out for the next few posts, which will most probably all be about books!

Life is good… till school starts again… for now,

HAPPY 17th ANNIVERSARY MR V!

2 thoughts on “The real holidays start NOW

  1. HAPPY 17th ANNIVERSARY MR AND MRS V! I HOPE YOU GUYS HAD A GD DAY…. HOPE THAT U ACHIEVED WHAT YOU WANTED IN YOUR MARRIED LIFE…..

Leave a Reply

