Mrs V’s blog is 1 year old (and some thoughts on blogging)

I was just looking back at some of my old posts and realised that I started this blog exactly one year ago. This is a really exciting milestone for me, because when I first started blogging, I had no idea how to go about doing it. It was one of you who put the idea in my head, and I must thank you because this blog has given me a great deal of fun. It’s also come in pretty handy for uploading resources related to the lessons so that everyone can have access to them.

On this first anniversary, I want to reflect on blogging etiquette. I get the feeling that some people treat their blog as a diary where they record their thoughts. I used to keep a diary when I was your age in which I wrote down all my feelings and my deepest, darkest fears. I never had time to write in it when I was happy, because I was too busy enjoying my life. It was only when I felt depressed that I wrote. So if anyone had read my diary, they would have thought I was mean and vicious and desperately in need of Prozac. But the point was that no one was meant to read my diary. It was private. And so I could shed my negative thoughts and emotions onto its pages, and then close the book and step back into life, refreshed and ready to face the world. The problem with using a blog for that purpose is that you end up showing the whole world your negative feelings as well.

                                           

Don’t get me wrong- I am not saying that we always have to act happy in front of the world, but I don’t think we need to advertise our faults either. Sometimes if we stand on the mountaintop and shout out all our fears, we wonder later- when we are feeling stronger- why people doubt us. It is because we have forgotten about our moment of weakness and moved on. But when you make your fears public, you can never move on. People’s perceptions of you are changed, whether you want them to be or not. I don’t know about you, but I would rather be able to control which parts of my character I show to whom.

I don’t mean this to be a diatribe against blogging in general. Obviously I don’t think it is all bad, or I wouldn’t be doing it myself! But I think there are certain rules we should set ourselves, and try our hardest to follow them.

What are some of the rules you follow when you blog?

One thought on “Mrs V’s blog is 1 year old (and some thoughts on blogging)

Leave a Reply

