3E5 Debate 2: The results of talent contests should be decided by the audience and not by a judge

american-idol.jpg

Pre-debate vote: For- 3; Against- 20; Undecided- 11

Post-debate vote: For- 18; Against- 5; Undecided- 11

A clear victory for the proposition team.

Proposition: tlent shows are for the purpose of bringing in revenue, and the whole point of the shows is to please the audience.

Opposition: judges have more knowledge and less bias.

In fact I actually found their argument more convincing, but then I’m just a teacher- what do I know?

There were some more good ideas, but I think I will let you guys take over with your comments.panel-of-judges.jpg

2 thoughts on “3E5 Debate 2: The results of talent contests should be decided by the audience and not by a judge

  1. hey!(: think its coz the members of the opposition team is nervous. otherwise the first speaker is usually a good speaker!(: personally i am with the opposition, but i still have to put up an convincing debate. gawd, am i the only one who commented?:(
    btw: tag me lehhs!!(: headfirstfor-halos.blogspot.com . thx!

  2. Yes so far you are the only one. Don’t worry- you always need a leader before others will follow.

    I would tag you if I knew what that meant. What am I supposed to do? Please explain!

    Nerves are a major occupational hazard of debators- I guess this is one area where practice really helps, but you need a great deal of support from team members and encouragement from the audience as well!

Leave a Reply

