Venn diagrams at Swensen’s

My kids and I were at Swensen’s for brunch today after their swimming lesson, and there was a friend of ours with us, named Venki. In my family we all like to talk so much that we spend most of our time negotiating who gets to talk at any point in time. This would be a good link to my next post, but I will save that for later.

Anyway, we had all ordered our food and were waiting for it to arrive, and while we were waiting, we were discussing the fact that all our orders had different areas of commonality. Arjun had asked for a chicken and mushroom pizza, Rishi had ordered a chicken bolognaise spaghetti, Venki was having a chicken mushroom spaghetti and I was having a mushroom omelette. So my kids started musing about who had what in common. It was very interesting to see how the discussion unfolded. I wish I could reproduce the whole transcript here but I can’t remember exactly how it went. Basically, we noticed that while Venki and Rishi had the chicken and spaghetti in common, Arjun, Venki and I had the mushroms in common, while Arjun, Rishi and Venki had the chicken in common.

To make everything more exciting, the topic of Venn diagrams came up, and we talked about how all of us would be distributed if we were to be placed into one according to our food choices. We didn’t have paper or pen with us, so we had to imagine what the diagram would look like.

Of course, you know what your teacher is like. When I came home I just had to draw it up and blog it. So here it is:

food_venna.jpg

For those of you who are miles ahead of me at math (that is, just about all of you), this probably will seem like a really tiny deal. You are so used to calculating things at stratospheric levels. But this is me we are talking about, and apart from my own voyage of discovery, it was lovely to see my kids getting excited about what was going on. There we were- no TV, no computer games, not physically going anywhere. Just the intellectual challenge of applying theoretical concepts to actual situations. It might sound simple, but the spontaneity was what got us all charged up.

2 thoughts on “Venn diagrams at Swensen’s

  1. hi mrs v! 😀

    wow! i am impressed at how venn diagrams (which are thought in science lessons during my primary schoo times) assist or can be applied in our daily lives! [:

    hmm. i really wonder what more uses of venn diagrams that really helps and makes complicated stuff look simple in our daily lives… yup!

    – edwin lim (3e3’08)

  2. I know! The best part is that when I was in school and learned about these, I did not realise how useful they could be as a way of organizing information and clarifying patterns of similarity. Mind blowing!

Leave a Reply

