Ode to a diva

ahmeng.jpg

We took so much from you, gracious lady

You stood poised and charming

Sharing your mischief, your smile

As you clapped, children cheered, I was one of them

I grew up with you, posed in the crook of your arm, a little nervous

It shows in my face in the photo

But your expression of gentle concern never wavered

I used to clamour to go to the zoo

because going there meant seeing you

Sometimes I felt a pang of shame, laughing at your antics

It should have been me entertaining you, but it was not

By some twist of fate I was human and you were ape

2 thoughts on “Ode to a diva

  1. I’ll try, Arjun. But they come to me only when I feel very deeply about something. Maybe my next poem will be about marking essays… I miss Ah Meng. I’m glad you liked the poem.

Leave a Reply

