Dhan Dhana Dhan Goal

goal.jpg The official poster with the slogan ‘A Hero Will Rise’, which I feel is a bit misleading.

goal2.jpg 

Arshad Warsi and John Abraham as Shaan and Sunny respectively, who start out as enemies and end up as friends. Yes I know, a little cliched, but in my opinion such positive cliches never go out of style.

goal3.jpg 

A still from one of the many soccer scenes which my son Rishi enjoyed so much. That’s the great thing about movies. You watch all these people racing around and you feel like you are the one running and playing. And then you wonder why, after all that exertion, you haven’t lost any weight!

I went to see this movie here in Chennai last night. From start to finish it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. First of all, it was so easy to book the tickets online. Collecting the tickets at the theatre was a breeze too. There was the option of ordering snacks online that would be delivered to our seats during the movie. With my kids panting over my shoulders as I stared at the monitor there was no way I could refuse. So we had popcorn and nachos with salsa without having to queue! Parking was a dream with 5 attendants to show the drivers where to park- no circling the lots waiting to swoop in should one miraculously be available. We had dessert at an exclusive cafe just before the movie: dreamy chocolate cake and creamy cheesecake at stratospheric prices.

Hang on, I hear you say. Dessert? When exactly was this movie? Here’s the best part- we went for a 10pm show, something I would never do in Singapore. My kids were so excited by the idea of going for such a late show. And yet it was so safe. There was no point at which I felt I had to watch my back. People are really indulgent of children here in Chennai, and if my son laughed rather too loudly at parts, there was no one turning to give indignant glares. Instead they laughed along with him, enjoying the sight of a happy child.

The movie itself was pure fun. I have to say I was a little hesitant because some people who had seen it told me that it was boring. But after seeing it for myself, I think that it is aimed at kids- no great intellectual thrust or anything. It is about a football club in England whose players are of Indian origin. The club is struggling to keep its grounds in the face of a takeover bid by a developer. They lose almost every match till they find a coach and a star player who help the team to victory. Of course it is pretty easy to predict that they keep their club in the end.

What I liked about it was the upbeat storyline and the inclusion of themes such as racial discrimination, sportsmanship and believing in yourself. The movie’s feel-good element stemmed from the fact that none of the themes were portrayed in such depth that they took over the movie. Ultimately it felt like a jolly good sports romp, where you could enjoy the matches shown in spite of- and maybe even because of- the fact that you knew who was going to win. The comedy was no less engaging for being gentle, and I was thrilled that my Hindi was good enough that I was able to understand the dialogues even without subtitles. It helped that every fifth line was in English, of course!

There were only 2 songs- very unusual for a Hindi movie, but both were excellent. This is a movie I would not mind watching again.

Has anyone watched any good movies this holidays?

3 thoughts on “Dhan Dhana Dhan Goal

  1. Wow! Movie a 10pm!!! Great review for the movie! Should check it out.
    I’m more keen on checking out this theatre. 😛 Watching a movie could not get any better. haha.

  2. Wow what a enjoyable night you and your family had! Sadly I had been busy with my homeworks in the holiday until i have no time for movie. haha

  3. Hi Venki- yes, the theatre was probably better than the movie, because all the people I spoke to who watched the movie here said they didn’t like it. Makes you think about the relationship between form and function. Between content and the style in which it is presented. Between thought and the language in which it is conveyed. Can we ever really seperate them?

    CZL- Don’t worry. Once you are done with all your exams you can… um… enjoy going to work???? Sorry man, play time ended when you turned 12!

Leave a Reply

