Teachers’ Day

I just wanted to say a big  to all of you for your cards, gifts and good wishes last Friday. It was sweet of all of you to express your appreciation so warmly and openly. Sincere students make teachers strive to give their best. This Teachers’ Day, I urge all of you to be the type of student who inspires the teacher. Much is said about teachers needing to motivate their students. While there is a certain element of truth in this, I feel that students have a huge part to play in shaping their own destinies.

Do you remember how, in “Iqbal”, the drunkard cleans up his act and rises to the occasion for the sake of a student who will not take “no” for an answer? That, my children, is what learning is all about.

Inspire me. I dare you.

2 thoughts on “Teachers’ Day

  1. Im an ex-swiss and just stumbled upon this site. This site’s great! It’s indeed wonderful for a teacher to interact with one’s student’s so frequently. Or at least, you managed to get some response.)
    My GP teacher in my JC tried setting up a blog too, it was one where she posted up articles after articles on GP related topic, unfortunately this attempt failed. Miserably. No one bothered going to her blog after a few visits, and the blog has since been “dusty”. Ah well, yours is a complete opposite. And i must say, im impressed. Utterly impressed. I dont know if you forced your students -my erm, juniors- to comment in it or whatsoever. Still, it’s been a great pleasure and im proud of Swiss and the teachers.
    (Though i have no idea, uhuh, absolutely no idea who you are. Mrs V… hmm.) Anyway, Keep it up! Happy post Teacher’s Day!
    Love,
    A Swiss.

  2. I’m not going to lie to you, man. There is a wee bit of coaxing involved. But I stop short of using the word “force”, because if you know anything about your juniors, you’ll know how hard it is to force them to do anything they don’t want to do. I can’t even get them to hand in their assignments on time!

    The comments on Speaker’s corner topics are partly a result of classwork, but after that the whole thing took on a life of its own, and I must say I am very proud of my students for the depth and breadth of their comments.

    Thank you for your words of encouragement- they make a big difference to me, and I would love it if you would keep coming back here and providing some words of wisdom for your juniors. If you are still in JC now, all the best for your ‘A’ levels.

Leave a Reply

