Mrs V in the news

Yes. It’s true. That was your teacher on the front page of the newspaper today. Some of you inundated me with questions- most insulting of which was “So was the reporter your friend?” On second thoughts, not such a silly question. Here’s what really happened.

The reporter contacted MOE to find out about adjunct teachers to interview, and  they gave her the name of our school, because apparently we have quite a lot of such teachers. It was Ms Tay who asked if I would be willing to do the interview. Since it did not involve any Maths, I said yes. The reporter e-mailed me the questions, I e-mailed her my answers and the rest, as they say, is history. This explains why there is no photo (sob!).

Anyway, here’s the best part. A lady called the school asking to speak to me. It turned out that she was my student more than 10 years ago- in fact I was her form teacher. And after I resigned we sort of lost contact with each other. When she saw that I was teaching at Swiss again, she took the opportunity to get in touch with me. Now she is working on getting the whole class together for a reunion. I can’t wait to see them.

So let’s get back to the report. What did I do to get into the news? Go back to work, apparently. A friend of mine remarked that I can never do anything quietly- even my going back to work makes the front page. What can I say? Fame just follows some people around! (Don’t worry- tongue is firmly in cheek.)

5 thoughts on “Mrs V in the news

  1. Mrs V – I am very proud of you and your work. I am proud in the manner you have brought up your two sons who are so much joy to be with. Your students are indeed fortunate to share some of your passion in the classroom.

  2. Mrs V, thank you for writing about this ‘lady contacting you’ after reading from The Straits Times and you were very excited about meeting your ex form class. It made my eyes teary. (Thanks for your encouragement to read The Straits Times otherwise, I do not think I will be seeing you again.)

    It was very good to have met you this evening and the chats we had with our classmates on the fond memories when you were our form teacher 13 yrs. We are so proud of you and really look forward to see you again soon. It is a real shame that the whole class couldn’t come tonight but we will organize another gathering again, making sure most or all of them will turn up.

    Do stay in good health, you and your family!

  3. Hi Veniz! Last night was great, and I am amazed that you made this comment so quickly! It was wonderful reliving those times we had together. I was very happy to see that all of you have turned into mature adults who have a deep sense of responsility to the people around you. It’s not just about the grades. Success can be measured in many ways, and as far as I am concerned, you guys have made it. You have turned into people the world can count on. I am so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

