Mrs V and Pottermania

dhukadultfront-thumb1.jpgdhukfront-thumb1.jpg

OH MY GOD!!! I was supposed to do so much marking over the weekend. Writing Burst books, journals and assignments litter my desk, at home and at school. I tremble in fear when I think of how I am going to have to struggle to catch up. BUT IT WAS ALL WORTH IT! I got the new Harry Potter book yesterday morning and I ignored everything and everyone till I finished it. Once I had dropped my kids at their two-and-a-half-hour tuition session I read till it was time to pick them up again. The poor things must have wondered why I packed them off to bed so early. I admit it- bad mother that I am, I did it so that I would have more time to read. At one am it was over. I knew how it ended, what the Deathly Hallows were, who lived and who died- the whole package. I LOVED the book. Exciting twists and turns, vivid detail, teeming with fascinating characters.

The reason I had to finish reading the book so quickly was because my son, Rishi, read the last few pages as soon as he was handed the book in the store. After that he was dying to share with me what he knew. I begged him to keep it to himself, and promised that we would discuss it as soon as I had finished the book. With his wonderful open character, he really can’t keep a secret for long, and so I whizzed through the book in self defence. Don’t worry. I CAN keep a secret. Meanwhile, my other son Arjun is patiently waiting till all of us have have finished fighting over and reading the book. Then, he says, he will be able to read in peace.

If any of you want to comment on the book, please warn us if your comment contains any spoilers.

6 thoughts on “Mrs V and Pottermania

  1. Yes, man! Read the entry- I finished it on Saturday night, 13 hours after I’d picked it up from the bookstore. It took that long only because I had other stuff to do in between. If I were a student who could hand in English assignments whenever I felt like it, I would have taken a much shorter time to read the book!

    BTW- have YOU read it?

  2. I’ve read it too! Read finished in two days! So interesting! Although I think that it’s like a little fairy tale book where the bad guy dies and they live happily ever after, like, SO TYPICAL. And it’s very sad that so many people die trying to fight. So brave!

  3. I know what you mean, Huiyi. I liked the way people came forward in the end to fight- it was as though they were saying that yes, they might die, but if they lived without killing Voldemort, it would not be a life worth living anyway. Also, I did get the feeling when I read the book that it was a little cliched in the good-triumphs-over-evil sort of way, but Rowling did it with panache, and I think that it is that very sense of comfort and familiarity we have with the plot that makes the book such a wonderful read- like an old and dear friend who still has some surprises in store for us.

    By the way for those of you who are wondering why I am not warning you about the spoilers in here: YOU SHOULD HAVE FINISHED READING THE BOOK BY NOW! The moratorium on spoilers has hereby been lifted. Consider yourself warned.

  4. I haven’t done anything more than touch a copy. I haven’t read it yet, but because of all people in the world throwing the spoilers in my face I know basically half the plot! I’ve tried to do everything to keep from chancing upon a plot point but it’s just inevitable! And some insane person with too much time on their hands has typed or scanned the book and put it up online. My sister’s reading it. I just, er, sort of skimmed through it.

  5. I know, it’s crazy isn’t it? I heard about this online version of the book just today, but the friend who brought it to my attention added the warning that this version may not be the full version, and – as happened with the 6th book – might have all sorts of nonsense in between. In other words, you may not be getting 100% of the contents of the book.

    Whatever the case, I know that I would prefer reading the actual book anyday. As someone who has tried to write a book myself and failed, I know how difficult the whole process is. I’d like to do the author the respect of paying for the fruits of her labour, because in this way, I can do my part to encourage other budding geniuses to come forth with their creative efforts.

    I know the temptation is awful, and it must be killing you to keep hearing bits of the plot. Look at it this way: even if someone recites the whole plot to you, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. The beauty of the book is the way it was written, and you only get that insight from reading the book yourself.

    Happy reading. I take my hat of to JKR. She got kids hooked onto reading again, and for that, she has my eternal gratitude.

    Let me know what you think of the book after you read it. Forget about the plot itself. Let’s talk about the wizard way she manipulates the language!

Leave a Reply

