Recommended Reading

reading1.jpgreading-list.doc

I have had a number of people asking for a reading list of some sort. There are a lot of books out there, and really the only way you will ever be able to figure out what you like and what you don’t, what you are able to read and what you aren’t, what you can get through and what you can’t (do you notice the repeated structure?) is to actually START READING!!!! At your age you should not just settle into one particular genre. Read as widely as you can. How will you know you don’t like something unless you try it? (Please note that this maxim does not hold true for unhealthy habits!) The best way to learn from your reading is to get out of your comfort zone. What do I mean by this? (Rhetorical question!) By all means read what you are comfortable reading. But after every easy book, pick up a book that challenges you- that makes you think. Push yourself a little. Why don’t I make a point of recommending books like Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl? Mailny because those books sell themselves. At your age they are easy reading. Don’t get me wrong- I am in no way putting you down. I LOVE Harry Potter and my 10-year-old son has been giving me such glowing reports about Artemis Fowl that I am determined to try reading one of the books just to see what all the fuss is about.

My point is that I want to recommend books that you would normally not pick up. The lists I have uploaded here are from the Washington Post and a publishing company. No one can read all the books on the list in a month. Just pick and choose.

The lists are not really necessary. Go to any library. The books are wonderfully sorted into age-appropriate categories. Take advantage of the fact that someone has removed the guesswork for you. There is a section called “Young Adults” (I think that’s what it’s called). You could try looking there. Or if you feel you are ready, move on to the general adults’ category.

I challenge you to challenge yourselves.

Leave a Reply

